Heading Logo

Eastern District basketball all-stars announced

Published: March 13, 2012 12:19 PM

Several players from the local area received recognition on the AP Eastern District all-star basketball team for 2011-2012.

Heading that group are five first team honorees.

Named to the boys Division II first team is 6-3 senior Zack Atkins of John Glenn, who averaged 16.9 points per game during the regular season for the Muskingum Valley League champion Muskies.

Earning first team accolades in boys Division III is 5-11 junior Eli Hurst of Shenandoah, who scored 15.4 points and 5.1 rebounds per game for the Zeps.

Selected to the Divisin IV first team is 6-6 senior Tyler Fitzpatrick of Barnesville, who tallied 18 points and 11 rebounds per game.

[Article continues below]

Newcomerstown Highs Allie Hinton, a 5-7 junior who scored 17.5 points per game, received first team honors in girls Division III.

The final first team honoree is 5-6 senior Jessica Hunkler of Barnesville, honored in girls Division IV after scoring 18.5 points per contest for the Lady Shamrocks.

Several local players received second team accolades.

On the boys side, Cambridge senior RyLee Rogers was selected in Division II; Buckeye Trail senior Kyle Larrick got the nod in Division III; and Caldwell sophomore Jonathon Wiechman was tabbed in Division IV.

Second team selections for the girls is Cambridge sophomore Hallie Stocker in Division II and senior Sami Schott of Shenandoah in Division III.

Third team choices locally include junior Kyle Ritz of Cambridge and senior Heath Dodson of John Glenn in Division II; senior Dakota Patterson of Buckeye Trail and junior Danny Neuhart of Shenandoah in Division III; and senior Zack Dornon of Barnesville and senior Cody Sproat of Newcomerstown in Division IV.

Girls third team picks are senior Tori Wolverton of Meadowbrook in Division II and senior Kori Conner of Newcomerstown in Division III.

Player of the Year selections for the boys include junior Dan Monteroso of St. Clairsville (D-II); senior Brandon Taylor of Coshocton (D-III) and senior Dylan Kaufman of Hiland (D-IV).

For the girls, the Player of the Year honorees are freshman Bre Berryman of Indian Creek (D-II); junior Taylor Buchanan of Fort Frye (D-III) and junior Karli Bonar of Shadyside and sophomore Molly Nash of Bishop Rosecans (D-IV).

Boys Coach of the Year honorees include Joe Dunlevy of Indian Creek (D-II); Dan Liedtke of Fort Frye (D-III); and Mark Schlabach of Hiland (D-IV).

On the girls side, the Coach of the Year winners were Tony Kovalesky of Edison (D-II); Liedtke of Fort Frye (D-III) and Craig Moore of Conotton Valley (D-IV).

(The complete AP Eastern District all-star boys/girls basketball team can be found on page B-3).

Rate this article

Do you want to leave a comment?   Please Log In or Register to comment.